2016 Stem Teacher Of The Year Applications Now Available

The Hall at Patriot PlaceThe application period for the 2016 Massachusetts STEM Teacher of the Year is now open. Nominate a deserving teacher who could win $5,000 for their school to be used for STEM education.

Nomination applications for the 2015-16 Hall at Patriot Place presented by Raytheon Massachusetts STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) Teacher of the Year are now available by visiting The Hall’s website at www.thehallatpatriotplace.com.

This will be the fourth consecutive year that The Hall will honor a Massachusetts STEM teacher with the winner’s school receiving $5,000 to be used for STEM education.

The application process consists of two phases. The first involves someone nominating a teacher for the honor. After a teacher has been nominated, he or she will then receive phase two of the application to complete. The deadline for phase one of the application process is Feb. 29, 2016. The nominated teachers will then be required to submit phase two of the application by March 18, 2016.

A five-member committee will then review all applications and select five finalists to be interviewed. The winner and four finalists will be recognized at the 2016 Massachusetts STEM Summit. The schools of the four finalists will each receive $1,000 for STEM education courtesy of Raytheon.

“The Kraft family has such a strong admiration for the work teachers do and the impact they make on our society and our future,” said Hall Executive Director Bryan Morry. “STEM fields are such a critical part of our local and national economy and Massachusetts should be a leader in those fields. Honoring a local educator for the impact he or she can have on students’ career paths is important to us organizationally and a key part of The Hall’s education mission. We have made a commitment to STEM education through our programming and we are proud to honor a local STEM teacher.”

The Hall hosts more than 18,000 field trip visitors each year with most participating in on-site STEM-related programs and modules designed to connect football to science and math.

Past winners of The Hall at Patriot Place presented by Raytheon STEM Teacher of the Year award are:

2015     Kerri Murphy     Oliver Ames High School (Easton)
2014     Doug Scott         Natick High School
2013     Kelly Powers      Advanced Math and Science Academy Charter School  (Marlborough)

Leave a Reply